Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Streaming Hardware/Software
As most of you know I'm getting prepped to stream on a more consistent schedule leading up to summer, followed by a full-blown daily streaming schedule all summer long. With this in mind, I wanted to start a discussion on streaming hardware and software. What do you like? What fails to meet expectations? Capture cards, game stream, extra programs... let's hit it all and come up with a consensus on what works best!

Software
Currently I am rocking my free year of XSplit, which I rolled back to Win7 specifically to use. I'm not sure if it's still having the massive issues with Win10 that it was in October and November of last year, but I'm hesitant to upgrade again until I'm sure. I've had plenty of experience with OBS as well, and still think it's the best free option on the market.

Hardware
I'm still sporting my LiveGamer HD, but I'm not really sure it's necessary anymore. Sure, if I want to stream a console game then the input is invaluable, but for simply streaming games on my rig? Things like XSplit GameCapture and the OBS equivalent seemed to have fulfilled the niche that I originally purchased the capture card for. The other option would be to install it on a secondary machine (like my wife's) to turn it into a streaming machine separate from the gaming rig. I don't really feel that's a necessity at all.

There are my two cents to get things started, but I'm really hoping to get a dialogue going on this. What do we think works best? What's obsolete or completely optional?
This list will change and be updated.

Software
XSplit - This is the software I currently use to stream. I've gone full circle with Xsplit, I started off using them then switch to OBS but the improvements they have made have been fantastic. It does cost money but it's very stable and well optimized. Like Jaarka I was running Windows 7 and Xsplit but now I've upgraded to Windows 10 and I've had no issues. 

Hardware